The 19th U.S.-Korea Forum on Nanotechnology



Professor John A. Rogers Northwestern University, USA

Professor John A. Rogers obtained BA and BS degrees in chemistry and in physics from the University of Texas, Austin, in 1989. From MIT, he received SM degrees in physics and in chemistry in 1992 and a PhD degree in physical chemistry in 1995. From 1995 to 1997, Rogers was a Junior Fellow in the Harvard University Society of Fellows. He joined Bell Laboratories as a Member of Technical Staff in 1997 and then served as Director of the Condensed Matter Physics Research Department from the end of 2000 to 2002. He then spent thirteen years on the faculty at the University of Illinois, most recently as the Swanlund Chair Professor and Director of the Seitz Materials Research Laboratory. In the Fall of 2016, he moved to Northwestern University where he is Director of the Querrey-Simpson Institute for Bioelectronics. He has co-authored nearly 1000 papers and he is co-inventor on more than 100 patents, more than 70 or which are licensed to large companies or to startups that have emerged from his labs. More than 150 former members of his group are currently in faculty positions at top institutions around the world, including MIT, Princeton, Stanford (3x), Dartmouth (2x), Duke, Cornell, Vanderbilt, Northwestern, University of Southern California, University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign (4x), University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Purdue University, University of California at San Diego, University of California at Santa Barbara, University of Texas at Austin, Texas A&M University (3x) and many others in the US, along with a large collection of universities in Europe and Asia, including TU Delft, ETH, Tsinghua (3x), Fudan (2x), Peking, SNU (3x), KAIST (3x), Univ. of Toronto and many others.

His research has been recognized by many awards, including a MacArthur Fellowship (2009), the Lemelson-MIT Prize (2011), the Smithsonian Award for American Ingenuity in the Physical Sciences (2013), the MRS Medal (2018), the Benjamin Franklin Medal from the Franklin Institute (2019), a Guggenheim Fellowship (2021), the James Prize for Science and Technology Integration from the NAS (2022) and the IEEE Biomedical Engineering Award (2024). He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine, the National Academy of Inventors and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is also an elected Fellow of the Royal Society.